Let’s talk about beavers

I have always loved to read, always. Books are my favorite things. They transport you to other worlds and circumstances and show you life through someone else’s eyes.

As a kid I was introduced to The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis. Most people recognize these seven books as some of Lewis’ most well known works. And even if people don’t know all of the books, they know at least one. You know the one.

The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe.

Yes, that one. The second (the first being The Magician’s Nephew) book in the series that features the four Penvensie children who enter the land of Narnia by going through this old, fancy wardrobe that’s hidden in a room by itself.

In this book, three of the children meet this family of talking Beavers who tell them that they need to find Aslan, a lion, if they want to save their prodigal brother (Edmund, the one who decided to run off with the White Queen, he got on my nerves when I was kid, but now as adult I understand him better – but that’s a different blog).

Anyways, Mr. and Mrs. Beaver guide these three British children to Aslan. But before the journey begins Peter, Susan, and Lucy have just one question about this lion that is supposed to help them: “Is he safe?”

The response they get is this: “Safe?” said Mr. Beaver; “don’t you hear what Mrs. Beaver tells you? Who said anything about safe? ‘Course he isn’t safe. But he’s good. He’s the King, I tell you.”

I can honestly say that as a child reading this story that had talking animals I didn’t appreciate the words C.S. Lewis wrote about our Savior-King here. They went right over my head.

Granted, I understood that the words made sense because Mr. Beaver was talking about a lion. However, I didn’t make the connection between Aslan and God. But now? Now those few words move my heart immensely.

Because when you really sit down and think about God the not-so-safe part of Him, the lion that lays with the lamb, becomes more clear.

Ephesians 5 says “Follow God’s example, therefore, as dearly loved children and walk in the way of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us…”.

We are told to follow’s God’s example? Okay. And God’s example is Jesus, yeah? Yeah, okay, so we are to emulate Jesus and His life. But, Jesus died for us…because The Father asked Him to…because He loved us.

He died.

And we’re supposed to follow His example? Even unto death? It’s a high-stakes game, friends.

Following God is not always safe because until He returns the second time, Satan is walking about, seeking whom he may devour (1 Peter 5:8).

But what does Mr. Beaver say next?

God is good.

He says God is the King.

Sometimes, I forget those things about God.

I get caught up in the fact that I have x-number of bills to pay, I have to be at work before 8:00am, the person in front of me at the grocery store has way too many things and doesn’t even know how to use self-check out properly, or maybe it’s raining and my socks get wet and suddenly all of the things that I feel are wrong are my only focus and I just lose sight of the fact that despite everything – literally everything – He is good (so, so good).

And He’s the King.

The King of what exactly? Well, everything. The King of kings. The King, period. He is the Keeper of the Keys to the universe that He created. And that is one of the few things that make me feel absolutely safe.

C.S. Lewis explains some of God’s most (seemingly) contradicting aspects in the simplest way that end up making the most sense – in a children’s book.

And it makes even more sense, in a much more profound way, to this 22 year-old young professional. And thank God for that.

 

Leave a comment